Events

Bookworms |  Kid Beowulf: The Rise of El Cid by Alexis E. Fajardo

Friday | April 26 | 6-7PM

Middle Readers! Join our Bookworms Book Club the third Friday of every month for author readings, pizza, and other fun activities! We are happy to welcome back Alexis E. Fajardo, an Eisner award-winning editor and cartoonist. In this third installment, Beowulf and Grendel are in war-torn Spain, where honor is hard-fought, allegiances are dubious, and the bulls run wild! Amidst it all comes a young knight named Rodrigo, who fights for the name he’s lost, the land he loves, and the virtue they’ve both forgotten. Please RSVP at tiny.cc/folioworms.


Independent Bookstore Day 

Saturday | April 27

Independent Bookstore Day is a one-day national party that takes place at indie bookstores across the country on the last Saturday in April. Why is Folio Books celebrating? Independent bookstores are not just stores–they’re community centers and local anchors run by passionate readers. They are entire universes of ideas that contain the possibility of real serendipity. They are lively performance spaces and quiet places where aimless perusal is a day well spent. Stop by today for some fun, free activities, giveaways, prizes, and complimentary refreshments. Party on!


Story Time | Bird Watch by Christie Matheson

Sunday | April 28 | 11:30AM

Meet author-illustrator Christie Matheson, the author of the acclaimed Tap the Magic Tree, who will entertain us with an art demo as we enjoy cookies and juice! In her new picture book Bird Watch, readers search for hidden birds and count them, too, in this seek-and-find picture book with a satisfying surprise. Delicate artwork, a focus on counting, and an engaging treasure hunt will entice fans of Janell Cannon’s Stellaluna and Steve Light’s Have You Seen My Dragon? Join us for this late morning story-time hour.


Odd Mondays |All Poetry Is Local: Noe Valley Celebrates National Poetry Month

Monday | April 29 | 7PM 

All poetry is local, specific to one place and one person, writing into the universal void. Join our Odd Mondays friends as they celebrate National Poetry Month! If you live, work, or go to school in Noe Valley, you are invited to share your poetry or a favorite poem by someone else in a 5-to-7-minute slot. Sign up by visiting the Odd Monday’s Facebook page and commenting, or by emailing Rick May at oddmondaysnoevalley@gmail.com. The celebration will include wine and cake!


Story Time | Illustrator Diana Toledano of One Snowy Day and the Polly Diamond Books

Sunday | May 5 | 2PM

Help us celebrate Children’s Book Week (April 29–May 5) with a special appearance by Diana Toledano! Diana (pronounced the Spanish way: De-Anna) is the illustrator of several books including the Polly Diamond chapter book series by author Alice Kuipers, which includes Polly Diamond and the Magic Book and the brand new Polly Diamond and the Super Stunning Spectacular Book Fair. Diana also illustrated the picture book One Snowy Day by Diana Murray. Join us for a special afternoon story time with Diana Toledano. We’ll also have cookies and juice!


Reading and Book-signing | The Red Daughter by John Burnham Schwartz

Monday | May 6 | 7PM 

Running from her father’s brutal legacy, Joseph Stalin’s daughter defects to the United States during the turbulence of the 1960s. For fans of We Were the Lucky Ones and A Gentleman in Moscow, this sweeping historical novel and unexpected love story is inspired by the remarkable life of Svetlana Alliluyeva. John Burnham Schwartz is the bestselling author of five novels, including Northwest Corner, The Commoner, and Reservation Road, which was made into a film based on his screenplay.


Presentation and Book-signing | A New Theory of Teenagers: Seven Transformational Strategies to Empower You and Your Teen by Christa Santangelo, PhD

Thursday | May 9 | 7PM 

Dr. Christa Santangelo is a clinical psychologist on faculty at UCSF. In A New Theory of Teenagers, she gives parents the advice, tips, support, and big-picture overview needed to see the teen years as opportunities for growth and positive relationship changes. Using a combination of traditional psychology with alternative methods like yoga, visualization, and meditation intended to work on building trust, understanding emotions, and finding room for positivity, Santangelo equips parents with the tools they need to turn conflict into harmony. Join us for a presentation and book-signing. Light refreshments will be served.


Odd Mondays | “Chinese Diaspora Stories” with Vanessa Hua, Yang Huang, and Kaitlin Solimine

Monday | May 13 | 7PM

Odd Mondays is a reading series and community event in Noe Valley which re-occurs almost every odd Monday. Vanessa Hua (A River of Stars), Yang Huang (My Old Faithful), and Kaitlin Solimine (Empire of Glass) will read Chinese diaspora stories from their works. Enjoy free admission and refreshments. A book signing follows the readings.


Story Time | Ruth Asawa: A Sculpting Life by Joan Schoettler

Sunday | May 19 | 11:30AM

Join us for a nonfiction story time as author Joan Schoettler reads from her picture book Ruth Asawa: A Sculpting Life. Asawa was an internationally renowned artist who made her home in Noe Valley. From Japanese-American internment camps to the creation of the San Francisco School of the Arts, Ruth Asawa’s life journey was one filled with challenges and obstacles turned into triumphs through perseverance and a unique vision. Known as the “Fountain Lady” of San Francisco due to the many fountains she designed, Asawa also experimented with unconventional mediums, using lines, space, and wire. Her story is sure to inspire young readers! Refreshments will be served.


Young Adult Workshop | YA Author Rebecca Hanover of The Similars

Sunday | May 19 | 4PM

Folio Books is hosting a special author-led workshop for our young adult readers (ages 12 to 18) and emerging writers! Join us for a writing activity, Q&A, book-signing, and snacks with TV writer and novelist Rebecca Hanover. Rebecca earned a BA from Stanford University in English and drama, and won an Emmy in 2008, as a staff writer on the CBS daytime drama Guiding Light. Her debut novel The Similars is a BookExpo 2018 Editors’ Buzz Pick. In the novel, protagonist Emmaline is in her junior year at a prestigious boarding school when six new students join the class. Strangely, these new kids look familiar—they are clones of other students! Please RSVP to join this special YA-only workshop!